It’s All a Trust Fall

 

I stand here, blind to the evidence of human presence. I close my eyes. Take a deep breath, and let myself fall back into the empty air. My stomach tenses. My muscles brace for impact. They told me they’d be there to catch me. I know they’ll be just beyond the point of catching myself. I’m tempted to throw my leg back and stop the fall, but no. I’ll prove that I have trust.

And just before I hit the ground, as soon as I fall too far to bring myself up again, I sink into their embrace. A breath a relief floods. I knew it! I told you I trusted. I did it. The worst part is over and I know within myself that I can do a trust fall.

 

Trust is Faith

 

This life takes trust. It takes a whole lot of surrender. Living this life takes surrendering our entire selves to God. We have to trust He’ll protect us in our surrender. Because trust— is faith.

Trusting God is hard. It’s hard because we are people who have to see it to believe. It’s hard because trusting God takes hearing, and we’ve been let down too many times by someone who didn’t keep their word. We’ve tried trusting by hearing. We’ve heard them say we could trust them; but the words we heard never happened. Hearing just doesn’t work for us. We want to see.

Trusting in God is hard because people are not always trustworthy.

People have let us down so many times, until we stand back up and decide that we will not trust again. Our walls climb high keeping us from trusting anyone. We will trust no one but ourselves.

 

I know, at the beginning God told me He would be here. He told me He would be with me. He’d be right behind me if I needed to lean back.  I can trust He’ll catch me before I fall. He said He wouldn’t leave. Everything was so clear. I could trust. His voice was so close, I knew He had to be right there with me. But it’s been a while since I’ve heard the nearness. I don’t hear Him shuffling behind me. I can’t see Him. What if He’s not standing to catch me? It will hurt too badly to fall. Oh, please be here God; please be here to catch me. 

 

God is not people.

 

Trust the promises. Trust that He’ll be there. He said He would, and He will.

 

So, we ask the questions like, “How do I trust when my faith is weak?” or “How can I trust His words when I don’t even know what His words are?”

“Faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the Word of God.” Romans 10:17

Dig deep into your Bible. It’s there. The words of God are there for you to hear. And when you hear, you will receive faith and your faith will be your trust.

 

 

“For we walk by faith, not by sight.” -II Corinthians 5:7-

 

“The God of my rock; in him will I trust: he is my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my high tower, and my refuge, my saviour; thou savest me from violence.”  -2 Samuel 22:3-

 

“Ye that fear the Lord, trust in the Lord: he is their help and their shield.” -Psalms 115:11-

 

“Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.” -Proverbs 3:5-

 

“Every word of God is pure: he is a shield unto them that put their trust in Him.” -Proverbs 30:5-

 

“The Lord is good, a strong hold in the day of trouble; and he knoweth them that trust in him.” -Nahum 1:7-

 

“Some trust in chariots, and some in horses: but we will remember the name of the Lord our God.” -Psalms 20:7-

“It’s not easy. Don’t give up. It takes everything you have when you’re called to Love.” -Echoing Angels-

 

-Olivia Fortner-

dscn5967

Leave a Reply

