The Crisis of Our Prayer Life…

“The crisis of our prayer life is that our minds may be filled with ideas of God while our hearts remain far from Him.” -Henri Nouwen-

 

This must be true, because even Jesus speaks of it in His walk on the earth. His words in Matthew 15:8 were, “This people draweth nigh unto me with their mouth, and honoureth me with their lips; but their heart is far from me.”

 

So we must get our hearts to God. 

Let’s build a relationship- a real love relationship with God.

 

The other day, I was reading though some of the first things I posted on this blog; and this post seemed to fit right in to this month of prayer. So, today, I’m pulling out an old one. 

 

 

What’s this life all about anyway?

dscn4707

Maybe to some it’s about success in the world.

“One day I’ll be rich and famous,” or “Someday I’ll live out my dream.” Well life is not about anything in this world. We live this life to purchase our ticket to the next.

The life we are living right now is determining our future. Our goal is to know God. Without knowing Him and Him knowing us, without a mutual love relationship with God, how can we enter into the Kingdom of Heaven?

“Not every one that saith unto me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that doeth the will of my Father which is in heaven. Many will say to me in that day, Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in thy name? and in thy name have cast out devils? and in thy name done many wonderful works? And then will I profess unto them, I never knew you: depart from me, ye that work iniquity.”                                                                                                                   Matthew 7:21-23

So, if knowing God and God knowing us is what it takes to get to Heaven, how do we accomplish this? How do we get God to know us?

What do we do when we want to get to know someone?

First, we introduce ourselves. A short chat might follow introduction and you’ll be on your way. That’s not a deep relationship though. To really become someones friend you’ll talk to them again and again, all the while finding out what they like, common interests, and growing to like the things that they like. If you grow to love them you will want to please them and give them what they desire, their will.

will

noun \ˈwil\

:  a particular person’s decision or choice <It’s the king’s will that he be jailed.>
 
Verse 21 says, he who does the will of God shall enter into the kingdom of Heaven, but a prayer or just a calling on God is not enough.

“Not every one that saith unto me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that doeth the will of my Father which is in heaven. (Matt. 7:21)

Now that we know we must have an intimate relationship with God, we know how to get Him to know us, and we know that we must do His will above all else, we need to know what God’s will is for us.

“For I came down from heaven, not to do mine own will, but the will of him that sent me.                                                                                                                                       And this is the Father’s will which hath sent me, that of all which he hath given me I should lose nothing, but should raise it up again at the last day.  And this is the will of him that sent me, that every one which seeth the Son, and believeth on him, may have everlasting life: and I will raise him up at the last day.” John 6:38-40

 
God wants you to be saved and to know Him. Just fall in love. Don’t be afraid. What if you love it?
 

1 John 2:3-4 says, “And hereby we do know that we know him, if we keep his commandments. He that saith, I know him, and keepeth not his commandments, is a liar, and the truth is not in him.”

Do God’s will.

He is what’s important.

Don’t fall for the tricks of evil.

This thing does matter.

 1 Peter 3:17, “For it is better to suffer for doing good, if that should be God’s will, than for doing evil.”

 

Let’s build relationship with Him through communication of reading the Word of God and through prayer. Our hearts will grow nearer to Him. It takes discipline but we can do it.

-Olivia-

Leave a Reply

