Uncomfortably Obedient is OK Sometimes

imageI heard a message one time titled “Comfortably Numb”. It was a great thought. Becoming numb to what God is saying. Not feeling the world beat you down. Yet comfortable in your state. Not wanting to change. Not seeking change. 

 

It’s true. We shouldn’t become comfortable in numbness, but what should we do? In  my mind, the answer was become comfortably obedient to God. Comfortably listening and seeking Him. All good things, but sometimes hard things. Sometimes we don’t know how to accomplish “Comfortably In-tune”. How do we stay away from comfortably numb, especially when it’s a hard thing to be comfortably feeling?

 

You see, we can do hard things, but sometimes it takes smaller steps to get there. I realized we can be “Uncomfortably Obedient”. We can serve God and give it all to Him, even if it feels uncomfortable. That’s OK. We do need a certain attitude to prosper with God but we don’t always start out very comfortable. 

 

It takes trusting to the point of falling in love to become comfortable in such vulnerability. We have to give all of ourselves to something we cannot control for a purpose we can’t always see. Now that sounds uncomfortable to me.

 

But because God has proved to us how He really does love us and is really doing all of this for our good (even when all we can see is a “not so promising” outcome) we can give ourselves to a faithful God. 

Jeremiah 29:11-14

“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.

 Then shall ye call upon me, and ye shall go and pray unto me, and I will hearken unto you.

And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart.

 And I will be found of you, saith the Lord: and I will turn away your captivity, and I will gather you from all the nations, and from all the places whither I have driven you, saith the Lord; and I will bring you again into the place whence I caused you to be carried away captive.”

-Olivia Fortner-

2 thoughts on “Uncomfortably Obedient is OK Sometimes

Leave a Reply

