I thought it was the still mind, and then I realized…

I thought it was the still mind that made me uncomfortable, and then I realized an empty mind is what effects me. I thought it was bad to have a still mind.

When I wasn’t thinking about all that I could be doing, or needed to make progress in (get ahead on school, read that new book, figure out how to help the broken ones, etc.), my mind would grow still… so I thought. I was uncomfortable with this.

The stillness is Ok. Thinking, concentrating on one thing is good, great even. Focus is important. I don’t do it enough… because distraction is easy. Life catches us and pulls us into its facade. It looks enticing. “This will make us happy”, we think. This is the lie that fills our heads. This is why we need the stillness at some times. Stillness of mind and concentration are good. Take time to get your mind off the world and focus. Be still for a moment.

 Be still, and know that I am God:                                                                                    Psalms 46:10

When my mind trails off onto vain things (“that new movie was so exciting” or “what will I wear tomorrow?”), I get out of whack. It’s because my mind isn’t thinking on progressive things. Things that matter. For example, my opinion on that persons outfit is not going to effect me, make me or anyone else better, help others,  make me grow, etc.

In the, so called, empty state of mind, I get ansi. I know I’m not doing what I could be. I could be raising money for the ones in need or studying to help myself or to help someone else. You don’t know if your knowledge can help someone or what kind of opportunity you will run into. You may be the very one who could save a life, encourage a soul, give an inspiring word or catch a heart on fire and fill it with the motivation to work for something better.

I challenge you and me to stop living in the empty mind and fill your thoughts with purpose. Purpose to grow, succeed, be an encourager, to live intentionally.

Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.                                                                              Philippians 4:8

                                                               -Olivia-

Leave a Reply

